Joint Seminar 2016 Batch 1 Testimony

1. Analysis of culture: the area of Asakusa, where two cultures – Shinto and Budha religions blend

a. Vica Puspitasari (120820150006) and Ayunda Fatmasari (120820150048)

Asakusa is located at Taito district on the west side of Sumida river. Asakusa was a temple town with Sensoji the main temple. According to the legend, the temple was built by fishermen brothers who said that they found the figure Kan’non (The Goddess of fertility) and followed the figure up to the headwaters of the Sumida river in year of 628, and built a temple in the place where the goddess disappeared. Sensoji Temple has three gates. Kaminari-mon is the main door guarded by Furai-jin. Therefore, if we use subway to Asakusa, the signposts installed at subway stations chikatetsu direct us to Kaminari-mon. In the big gate, which is made of wood there is a giant red lantern hung. On the left side there is a statue of God of the wind, while on the right is the statue of the God of the storms.
Passing the Kaminari-mon, we will soon find a row of stalls selling a variety of well-known souvenirs. The shopping area along approximately 100 meters which is called Nakamise, sell various souvenirs from keychains, fans, bookmarks, katana swords, T-Shirt, to kimono. The typical food and Japanese pastries are also available there. Although generally speaking the sellers speak only Japanese, we won’t have trouble since a price tag has already been attached on each item, so we just choose which one we want to buy; then the sign language plays a role.

Not only is the temple as its main tourist destination, but Asakusa is also a home to a variety of cultural festivals such as Sanja festival and lantern festival with big lanterns are paraded around town.

image001

Nowadays we can find a diversity of religions and beliefs in Japan, starting from Shinto, Buddhism, Confucianism, to Taoism, there are also various religious groups that are often referred to as the new religion, folk religion, Christianity, and Islam. New denominations are religious movements, which have emerged in Japan since 1945, since the Japanese government has given equal treatment to all religions and beliefs that have been existed.

Shinto is a combination of two Chinese characters (Shen-tao), Shin means god and Dao means way. Literally, Shinto means God’s way. Shinto is a native religion of Japan. The word comes from the Japanese Languageand is often translated in other languages as “The Way of the Gods”. At the beginning, Shinto was a natural religion that is a blend of animism and the worship of natural phenomena. In a very simple way, the ancient Japanese society considered all objects, whether living or dead to have soul or spirit. All the spirit of the power was considered to have powers that affect their lives.

In its development, the indigenous faith of Japanese – Shinto was confronted with the Buddhist religion, which was finally resulted in the emergence of great competition between Japanese Shinto’s priests and Buddha’s priests so that to maintain the viability of Shinto, the Shinto’s priests received and incorporated elements of Buddha to their religious system. As a result, the religion is almost lost most of its original nature.

Shinto religious believers have a motto which is Our country – no – Mishi which means still looking for the ways of gods. The Japanese (Shinto) recognizes the god of the earth and the sky god (god of heaven) and the highest god was the Sun Goddess (Ameterasu Omikami) associated with the Grantor of prosperity and welfare as well as progress in the field of agriculture.

Besides believing in the gods that gives welfare, they also believe in the magical power to harm from the evil spirit called Aragami. According to the Shinto religion human nature is basically good and clean, while ugly and dirty is the second growth, and a negative state must be eliminated through the purification ceremonies (Harae). Because Shinto religion is often said as a religion that begins with the purity and ends with purity. Places that are used to worship are Shinto Shrines (Sanctuaries).
The main objective of Shinto is to achieve immortality among spiritual beings – Kami. Kami is understood by the followers of Shinto as a supernatural power of holy living in or connected with the spirit world.
One of Shinto religious rituals is Matsuri. Matsuri is a Japanese word that means the Shinto ritual is dedicated to Kami, while the meaning in secularism means festival, a celebration or a holiday celebration. Matsuri is derived from the word matsuru (matsuru: worship, adore) which means the cult of Kami or related rituals. In the Shinto religion theology, there are four elements known in the matsuri namely purification (harai), offering, chanting (Norito), and feast. Matsuri is generally held in jinja or shrines. In the Kyushu region, matsuri held in the fall is called Kunchi.

Matsuri was held with the intention to pray for the success of fish catches and harvests (rice, wheat, beans, barley, corn), success in business, healing and immunity to disease, safety from disasters, and as a gratitute after successful in completing a tough task.

image003

 

b. Furqan Mazka (120820150001) and Gaffar M Jahid (120820150055)

Japan is a country that has high technology and science achievements. Many emergences of new technologies and knowledge have been pioneered by Japan. However, behind the development of all those advancements, the Japanese people uphold their belief in religion. Among adolescents and youth of Japan, subject to religious beliefs, both Shinto and Buddhist can be still very thin due to the turmoil of youth. But along with the increasing maturity and age, they require a glimmer of peace of heart and soul that cannot be provided by technology and sciences. So they began to yearn for and seek for God. The more mature the human mind, the more religous they are.

Tokyo is a symbol of sophistication and progress of human civilization. Skyscrapers, roads are nice and large; the power train system Shinkasen serves thousands of human activities, as well as millions of secrets behind a city bearing the title of mega, Tokyo still leaves Asakusa.

Asakusa is located on the east side of Tokyo approaching Tokyo bay. Asakusa can be regarded as a religious site that is still left in the middle of the swift modernization of the city. Within this area there is very large temple complex. Two beliefs are united in one location adjoining full harmony. Neither Buddhist nor Shinto alone, but both biting peacefully. Asakusa has become a symbol and witness that different beliefs cannot separate the humans from a value of truth and unity of life.

Entering the main gate, visitors will be escorted to the mood and feeling full of reverence. In prayer and mantra, every hope of the coming world peace, Asakusa offers two main stream media of beliefs held by Tokyo’s people, which are Buddhism and Shinto.

On the right side of the main gate, there is stout wooden gate where Shinto Shrine symbol stands. Shintoism is the adoption and acculturation of Buddhism that came from India through China with local beliefs of the ancestors of Japan – Shinto. Shinto religion and belief belong to communities of Tokyo today. Before entering the temple to perform the ritual of worship, on the left side there is a place of purification. Water from a small shower was caught by a tiny scoop of coconut shells, and is used to wash the hands of the left and right before wiping mouth. Soon after achieveing physical sanctity, prayer is being said, worship is ready to begin. In a simple way, Shinto communities pray at the altar by bringing both hands over the chest and with a little bend of the back. Once the prayer is finished being said, the person goes back one step and both hands are clapped. There is no specific time to pray or worship. Temple always opens; anyone, anytime comes there, are no barriers of space and time to worship.

In the middle of Asakusa temple complex, there is the building which becomes the place of worship for Buddhists. Buddhist temples are not marked with a wooden gate, but more like a temple building for the Kong Hu Chu. Bright red color dominates ornaments and each detail in the Buddhist temple. In the centre of the altar toward the main door, there is giant lantern lighting hanged as the symbol of life. It is under the light that every prayer and petition being said.

Shifted to the back side of the Asakusa complex, there is majestically tower skyscraper stands. The tower is more akin to a god of the sky tower of Chinese pagoda people once used to confine the Magic Monkey Sun Wukong. This tower is the Landmark of Asakusa area as the centre of people’s spiritual energy in Tokyo. Region of worship ends with gates towards the exit.

Out of the worship area, visitors will pass through a long corridor with typical merchandises of all the trinkets and souvenirs of Asakusa and other Japanese specialties. Here visitors can easily find the nuances of Japanese goods, ranging from various types of key chains, shirts, T-shirts, chopsticks, magnetic hangers, to kimono robe and a samurai sword, even the secret weapon of the ninja.

2. Marketing analysis: Japanese business practices of SMEs in the area Asakusa

a. Khairina Sabila Adriani 120820150017 and 120820150051 Pribadhi Muslim Dienal

We feel grateful to be given the opportunity and experience of the program “the International Joint Seminar & Company Visit to Ricoh Corporation” organized by MM UNPAD in cooperation with Rikkyo University. The first day began by visiting Asakusa, where there is a temple of Senso-Ji (the oldest Buddhist temple in Tokyo) and Shinto shrine. Although the two religions are different, the two temples are located in the same area. It taught us Cultural Analysis, which analyzes about cultural differences.

Next, we did Marketing Analysis by observing the way the vendors in Asakusa selling their merchandises. It can be seen how the vendors show the uniqueness of the products, as well as the prices offered that are competing among the stores. In the food sides, hawking Small and Medium Enterprises put a picture of each food product, which is a way to inform consumers so that the tourists are able to know clearly what food will be purchased. The description of the product being sold is also made very interesting in many ways, such as images and miniatures that resemble products. Although we had a little difficulty in knowing what products are being displayed by operators of SMEs in Asakusa, we were helped a little by the price listed on each product. Because the traders there mostly do not speak English very well, so the price tag in the form of nominal price written in Japanese and Latin inscription is very helpful for potential buyers.

Another interesting thing in the shops in Asakusa is people can taste the typical Japanese food such as dorayaki, melon pan and others. Promotion strategy is carried out by the SMEs; one of them is offering the products by the sales marketing staff. The interesting thing for visitors in Asakusa is they can see the manhood ceremony for women who have grown up that is when a girl reaches the age of 20 years old. That event is marked by the woman who wears a kimono. It is an attraction for foreigners to see the Japanese woman wearing a kimono so as to attract more and more visitors coming to the area of Asakusa in Tokyo, Japan.

Besides seeing a blend of the two cultures in Asakusa, we were also able to enjoy almost every traditional food of Japan that exist and also there was one more thing to attract visitors – a place called tourist information center building, where on the first floor we learned a lot of information about Tokyo and surrounding areas; in addition, from the 8th floor (top floor or rooftop) we saw the sights of Tokyo including Tokyo Skytree tower. All of them we enjoyed by visiting Asakusa only. It is obvious that the ceremonies and the fusion of two cultures in Asakusa make special attractions for tourists to visit Asakusa.

 

b. Gina Triana (1208201500) & Sendy Desianti P (12082015005052)

In Asakusa, Tokyo, there is a temple called Sensoji – Buddhis Temple, and is one of the famous and colorful temples in Tokyo. According to the legend, the two fisherman brothers got a statue of Kannon (goddess) of the Sumida River when they were fishing. When they returned it to the river, the statue returned to them. The two brothers then built a shrine in honor of the goddess and completed the shrine in the year of 645.
The first time we set an eye to this temple, we saw “Kaminarimon” Gate which means lightning. This gate was originally made up of two giant standards with a trident symbol. In December 2010, there was renovation for new standards so as to make the temple more glowing. In the courtyard of the temple, there is a row of shops along 200 meters that sell a variety of souvenirs. They sell traditional Japanese items like yukata, folding fans, good luck charms, T-shirts, and local snacks. One snack is “Kibidango” that is snack made based on the famous children’s story in Japan: Momotaro the Peach. Kibidango is very special because it is only sold in this place, not in grocery stores or supermarkets. Other snacks that are sold are mainly made from red bean called Agemanju (cake studded fried bread) and Ningyoyaki (a snack made of cake).

The city hosts a variety of events at the temple including the Sanja Matsuri, which is held every year in May. Famous Asakusa Samba Carnival is held in August. Samba Carnival is known in sales hagoita-ichi, planks of wood covered by painting and used in the traditional Japanese game, hanetsuki. Hanetsukis is played on New Year. This game is like badminton without a net. The board of hanetsuki is sold in December and it displays Japanese traditional art or a modern pop culture icons such as Harry Potter, the Prime Minister of Japan, Spiderman, or Hello Kitty.
In the Sensoji Temple, we can see the Asakusa Temple which was built in 1649 by Tokugawa Iyasu. This historic building is located just a few meters away from the left side of the main shrine in Tokyo, so even though Japanese as the language is always helpful, it is not needed as important as in rural areas where historic sites stand. The Sensoji Temple can be reached in several ways; Ginza Subway, Asakusa Subway or Tobu Railway Tracks. From Tokyo Station it costs 170 yen. This Temple opens from six in the morning to 6 in the evening. Entering the Temple is free of charge.
The visitors can buy souvenirs at Nakamise. Here almost all typical Japanese souvenirs can be bought at affordable prices. As an illustration, a key ring or patch refrigerator is ¥ 350- ¥ 500, kokeshi doll ¥ 800 – ¥ 4,000, shirts ¥ 950 – ¥ 1,500, and kimonos each costs tens of thousands of yen. A package of food is very exclusive here at a bargain price of ¥ 650 – ¥ 1,000 containing 10-20 pieces.

 

The clean quality of the infrastructure and environment

a. Utari Nur Riski 120820150019

A short trip of four days in order to follow “International Joint Seminar & Company Visit” to Japan has given the impression and many valuable lessons. International Joint Seminar was held at Rikkyo University; then we visited Ricoh Corporation. One of the most memorable things was the level of cleanliness of the country. During the short trip, we went to some of the areas that are centres of crowds in Japan but found no garbage at all, which certainly very different from the usual crowded central state we meet in our own country. Interestingly, not many bins provided in the centres of crowds in Japan, yet the country is free of scattered trash. The secret is Japanese people always bring a container to carry their garbage in each bag to put their garbage before throwing the trash in places that have been provided. Bins provided are divided into various categories of trash, so people have to sort out their garbage first before throwing that into the trash. Trash can be divided into categories of plastic waste, plastic bottles, papers, and glass bottles and cans, like the example shown in Figure 1 belows:

image006

As for household garbage, the Japanese government has set schedules for garbage collection from homes. After all the wastes are collected based on each category, they are separated between the wastes that can be recycled and the ones that cannot be recycled. The examples of fascinating recycling process is how rubbish of plastic bottles are recycled into the foundation of an artificial island in Odaiba and foundation of flight trajectory. Waste that is not recyclable then is taken to the incinerator provided in every district. At first glance, the incinerator is not such a common landfill that we have encountered in Indonesia. The followings are the pictures of waste incinerators in Japan.

image008

Figure 3. Incinerator in Japan

image010

Both incinerators are located in Ciba, and taken during a trip to Narita International Airport. People in Japan are allowed to discard their household garbage in the garbage wrought, with the cheaper cleaning fee charged. Moreover, if we are going to remove household furniture it should be cut into small pieces, because if it is disposed in an intact form it will incur a greater cost.

It is very interesting experience to see the waste management by the government of Japan. Waste management in Japan has been the integration of upstream and downstream so that the waste can provide value and benefits to the Japanese people. Waste management by the government of Japan is a valuable lesson to be applied in Indonesia. Besides waste management, maintenance programs on public facilities in Japan are also admirable. The entire public facilities, ranging from park benches to flyovers are in very good condition. That is because a routine maintenance program is always performed by Japanese government.

The success of the public infrastructure maintenance program cannot be separated from the role of Japanese society itself. Public facilities such as flyovers are regularly checked and maintained by checking from the condition of iron buttresses, the quality of asphalt, to the smallest components such as bolts. The role of society can be seen on the routine picket activities carried out in public schools and residential neighborhoods.

 

b. Teuku Deky Firnanda 120820150061 120820150020 & Anindita Pradipta

WOW …! The highest level of consumer expectation of a product! That is our expression of the quality of the environment and environmental infrastructure of Japan. When we attended “International Joint Seminar & Company Visit to Ricoh Corporation” which was organized by MM FEB UNPAD and Rikko University in Tokyo, held for four days, the time we stayed in Japan has made the great impression. The amazing thing was the quality of the environment and infrastructures in Japan that are very clean and neat. This is certainly related to the attitude of Japanese society that makes the quality of Japanese environment becomes clean; Japanese society has a shame culture of dirtiness and clutter. The point is that Japanese people feel embarrassed damaging the environment and littering disorderly, damaging public infrastructure, crossing not at the right place (not in the crosswalk), doodling public facilities etc. In addition, since Japan also has an infrastructure, a clean environment and also well-structured infrastructure, the Japanese people are happy using public facilities, reducing air pollution levels by using not the private cars but public facilities.

image015image014image016

There are differences in waste management system between Japan and Indonesia. In Indonesia, usually the result of discarded household garbage is put in plastic bags and then placed in a garbage disposal box that will be taken by the janitor every day. In Japan, the Japanese government applies strict rules about throwing garbage. Starting from choosing the waste to be disposed according to the categories, to wrapping up garbage by types of garbage. Prior to time of disposing waste, people should buy plastic bags for garbage that are available in supermarkets. Green plastic bags are for rubbish that can still be processed in natural / organic (moerugomi) and white bags for the waste that cannot be processed in natural / inorganic (moenaigomi). However, these two colors do not apply in all regions because each region has its own colors to distinguish the two types of garbage. Consequently, the garbage bags purchased in Tokyo could not be used in Hokkaido because each city has its own garbage bags.

In Japan not every day people can dispose waste; they have to dispose of waste according to its type and disposal schedule. Moerugomi garbage is usually discarded twice a week while moenaigomi garbage is usually discarded once a week. However, this schedule also depends on each city or region, because each city has a different schedule in removing waste. In Japan there is also the term for special garbage or rubbish that cannot be disposed for free. People have to pay to dispose the waste. The waste such as cabinets, tables, chairs, TV, computer, air conditioner, refrigerator, microwave, etc., by law cannot be disposed in the usual place. If people want to throw thing like that, they must look at the schedule for dumping a large item garbage that has been given by local authorities and they have to buy a coupon to disposethose garbage, the price varies depending on the type of item they want to remove and then the coupons are attached to the items to be discarded as evidence that they dispose the waste legally. Nevertheless, there is another way if people want to dump this type of garbage, that is by giving it to the recycle shop. If the thing is still in a good condition and no more than 5 years of usage, probably they can even get some money from it. However, if the goods is older than 5 years and damage, no money is given or even they must pay to that recycle shop.

 

c. Alzena Oktavina 120820150058

Students of MM FEB UNPAD batch 49 followed a Joint Seminar at Rikkyo University, Japan. We also conducted company visit to Ricoh Corporation. The trip was very impressive, especially viewing the environmental infrastructure in Japan. Japanese people are very concerned about the cleanliness of the environment, awareness of environmental hygiene has become a culture implanted since they were little kids. Although there are no restrictions or applicable laws regarding the litter, but the Japanese people can make the cleanliness of the environment as the norm. An example can be seen in offices or buildings in Japan, imposing community service (kerjabakti) together to clean the building on Friday every week.

image018

(Figure 1). Clean Environment at Rikkyo University

In addition to a clean environment, infrastructure in Japan is very nice and unique; many icons become the symbols of the country, such as Tokyo Tower and Sky Tree Tower. Japanese can maximize the existing land as well, for example, the manufacture of underground tunnels and toll in the city were once a river that crossed the region. To reduce congestion in a big city like Tokyo, the Japanese government has built the toll road. The assumption is that its water reservoirs have been moved to a more strategic place and do not interfere with other infrastructure. Perhaps this can become input to the Indonesian government to be smart in the State infrastructure issue to reduce congestion and flooding problems in big cities.

image020

(Figure 2.) Example of Environmental Infrastructure in Japan

I hope in Indonesia can apply the systems that have already run well in Japan, so as to reduce the problem of garbage and environmental hygiene, which indeed it is resulting in flooding and air pollution. Indonesian culture, especially in MM UNPAD should implement awareness of the clean and comfortable environment in order to gain a higher spirit for learning and working in a campus environment. Safeguarding the environment should become a culture since childhood and is applied starting from the family so that it becomes a good habit.
Thanks MM UNPAD for this valuable experience; hopefully culture of clean and comfortable infrastructure will be implemented soon in Indonesia, especially at Padjadjaran University campus environment. I hope the next batch will have an incredible experience as the batch 49 Regular Class had.

 

 

Comments on Ricoh’s model of ecotown management at Ebina

a. Revina Trinanda (120820150026) and Fitri Ayu A (120820150027)

The “International Joint Seminar & Company Visit” was held in Tokyo, Japan. The activity is a cooperation between MM FEB UNPAD and Rikkyo University, 02-06 February 2016, which was a very short experience and fun, and beneficial. By attending this event we had the opportunity to visit and meet professors from Rikkyo University and Takushoku University, and got a very warm welcome. Surely this is the result of good cooperation between MM of Padjadjaran University and the two universities. In both universities, the MM students presented their research proposals. The research proposal we presented was “An Analysis of Funds and Loan Disbursement toward Profitability of Conventional Bank in Indonesia”.

During our stay in Tokyo, we found that the culture and habits of the population in Japan is very organized and discipline, and it was a new experience for me to taste directly the Japanese culture of life there. The first day was started with Cultural Analysis of activities in the area of Asakusa, where there is temple with a strong Japanese culture. The next lesson learned was marketing analysis. In the Asakusa area there are many traders who sell a variety of goods that are typical of Japanese culture.

After doing our research proposal presentation at Rikkyo University, we followed Company Visit to Ricoh Corporation. At this company, the staff introduced us to the development of the company and the products they have. One of the highlights for us in the presentation by Ricoh Corporation is Ecotown Program based in Ebina adjacent to the headquarters of Ricoh Corporation in Japan.
Japan is one of the countries in the world which really cares about the environment. Various aspects of life in Japan refer to the commitment of environmental care. Start from producing the recycle bin, building pollution-free industry area, to producing environmentally friendly vehicles.

Ecotown project activity was initiated by Ricoh Corporation in Ebinashi area, Japan. The project aims to build industrial community based on recycled resources. From ecotown based development centered on Ebinaini, Ricoh strives to build a better infrastructure in the area, while at the same time developing the potential area of Ebina, especially for the region and nearby residents. The main principle of Ecotown itself is to establish environmental improvement. By building their Headquarter in Ebina, Ricoh also has an obligation to develop the region, which simultaneously also to promote the quality of the company itself.

In our opinion, what by Ricoh Corporation has been done for Ebina area is very useful for local communities to have a better, healthy growth, which becomes a sustainability program of Ricoh Corporation that of course, supports the company.

 

b. Sumarni 120820150044

image021image024image026image028

Task and course that are fun and become a memorable and rewarding experience for me during my study at MM Padjadjaran University is the International Joint Seminar & Company Visit. Different from the duties and other subjects, this course was a series of tasks to make a pre-thesis paper, which was then presented in front of the Japanese professors at Rikyo University campus in Japan on February 4, 2016.

In Japan, we did not only do presentations, but also visited (company visit) to the Ricoh Corporation and visited tourist spots and shopping centres in Tokyo. During company visit to Ricoh, we were welcomed directly by Vice President of Ricoh and staff. Through its presentation, Ricoh introduced the products they were developing at that time. Ricoh Company is a company that has been long known in Indonesia for its technology. Ricoh products, among others are cameras, watches, copy machines, etc.

One of the products they have been developing at the moment is Ricoh’s Model Town Management in the area of Ebina, a town at the outskirts of Tokyo. The city management model is integrating the whole territory with the future model of home by Ricoh (Ricoh future house) that are environmentally friendly and energy efficient. This future home is equipped with a wide range of technology that allows residents to interact with each other.

The model of the future home and Ricoh city management model I think can be replicated and developed in Indonesia by incorporating elements of Indonesian culture with all the ordinances manners so it does not remove the sides of the authenticity of the culture, yet it performs effectiveness and efficiency and in accordance with the era.

 

c. Hilda Meirani & Gian Cahyana

It was a very valuable experience for me following the program “International Joint Seminar & Company Visit to Ricoh Company” organized by MM Program FEB UNPAD in cooperation with Rikkyo University in Tokyo, held from 2 to 6 January 6, 2016. I felt very proud having the opportunity to present my research proposal that was prepared together with Hilda Melania Herfian with title “Competitive Strategy Analysis to Increase Competitiveness in Exporting Tiger Shrimp from Indonesia to Japan” in the presence of Professors of Rikkyo University, Japan.

The first day setting our foot in the cherry country, we were quite shock with the cold temperature in Japan. With the short adjustment to the cold weather we proceeded to Imperial Palace, which is the centre government of Japan. Then we went to Asakusa, the area where the symbol of harmony between the two religions Buddhism and Shinto lies. Still in the same area, which is called Nakamise Street, there are many vendors selling Japanese products.

On the second day, the core event of the International Joint Seminar & Company Visit to Ricoh Company was held, where all participants presented the results of research proposals that had been prepared using English as an international language. Started with a prayer and thorough preparation we delivered the results of research and got a variety of responses and comments from the Professors of Rikkyo University – Professor Yamada, Professor Kakinaka, and Professor Akita. The activity gave positive impact for me personally in particular and to all participants in general because it improved our confidence and honed our ability to communicate globally. Then the journey continued to Ricoh Company, which is located in Ebina City. We were quite amazed by the layout of the building, which is very well organized and has complete facilities with a long-term project of Ricoh’s Company, Ricoh’s Urban Development. The region has become more alive because of the presence of Ricoh’s Urban Development, locations and resources that reside in these areas are more useful for financial condition and welfare of the people at the surrounding area. It would also be a positive impact for Ricoh Company in its efforts to continue to develop and improve infrastructure in order to strengthen the company, especially in the field of research and development.
The third day became a more enjoyable day when we visited Harajuku Street to do shopping. Many unique and interesting things can be found there. In the afternoon we continued the activity by enjoying lunch at the Thai restaurant that is located in one corner of the crossroads at Harajuku Street. After lunch, we headed to Shibuya which is well known as a very crowded shopping mall. This mall is very close to a popular icon, that is the statue of Hachiko at the station. In the evening we had dinner at a restaurant located near Shinjuku then back to the hotel to rest.

Our last day in the land of cherry began with the last breakfast in this country in Sunshine Prince Hotel. After breakfast, we went to the Indonesian Embassy to meet Bapak Ben, The Deputy Ambassador of Indonesia to Japan. We had a discussion with him until around midday. Once the discussion was completed, we said good-bye and went on a trip for lunch. Given the limited time we had, there was a change of plan which originally was scheduled to visit Odaiba and Shisui Premium Outlets to one of them, Shisui Premium Outlets only. Once satisfied with shopping, it was time for us to leave for Narita Airport before returning to our homeland, Indonesia.

Thanks to MM UNPAD for the opportunity and experiences that are truly extraordinary and unforgettable. I hope the experiences can be useful in the future.

 

Ricoh Company Industrial Media Solutions (IMS)

Nur Annisa Ilmianti – Student ID 120820140016
Dita Arpila Agrita – Student ID 120820140041
Mila Aprilia – Student ID 120820140042
Radinal Hakam – Student ID 120820150004
Tania Putri – Student ID 120820150041

Indonesian society may generally do not know the company called Ricoh. Only a few people know that Ricoh is a manufacturer of professional camera products. This is quite reasonable as basically Ricoh products are marketed to businesses in the world, and is one of the Ricoh’s professional cameras products is marketed to the public (now is known by the name of Pentax). It can be said that Ricoh is an IT manufacturing company that produces all kinds of electronic devices needed by society in conducting business processes today.
Ricoh is a global technology company specializing in office imaging equipment, production print solutions, document management systems and IT services. Headquartered in Tokyo, Ricoh Group operates in more than 200 countries and regions. This company, which was founded in 1936 by Kiyoshi Ichimura has the objective to help people in improving their quality of life in a sustainable manner. It is concretized through their major products and services; one of them is called Industrial Media Solutions. The Division of Industrial Media Solutions or IMS has the responsibility to develop products, produce, sell, perform maintenance, as well as to process the recycle of the products.

The products produced by this division consist of Imaging Solutions, Networks System Solutions, Industrial Products, and Digital Cameras. Imaging Solution is Ricoh products related to printing as well as multifunction printers, laser printers, production printers, digital duplicators, managed document services and other related services. Network System Solutions helps companies to build the company’s internal communication system.

Other products that are frequently used by industrial players such as super markets, warehouses, and business services are Industrial Products. Ricoh manufactures direct thermal papers which commonly used to provide information in the form of labels or barcodes on food or other objects to indicate the delivery address or the content of the products, as well as the commuter tickets that display the expiration date as IC Cards.

As a company that has a commitment to sustainability, Ricoh creates rewriteable thermal film that allows companies that use the services to reduce waste in the form of documents. A document that has been used or printed by the company can be recycled and can be reused as a new document. This innovation results in increased efficiency and reduces negative impact on the environment at the same time, for example disposing the barcode label after usage is now no longer need to do. It is very beneficial for the reduction of operational costs. The most important thing is Ricoh has fulfilled its commitment to preserve the environment.

Ricoh Group has developed environmentally friendly technology that eliminates residues without using solvents or water. A small thin film can help the object to be cleaned to remove residue. This technology for cleaning is also used in the manufacturing process and product recycling process. This process uses neither solvents nor water, and also minimizes the amount of materials used for film, thin and lightweight. Its capacity to remove residual does not decrease after it is used repeatedly so that the resin film can be used continuously without being replaced. Only residues are removed and discarded from the object, while the resin film is used repeatedly through continuous circulation. This property makes it possible to reduce both environmental impact and operating costs.

Ricoh Group considers environmental protection activities as important as the activities of business management, and Ricoh accepts the responsibility as a global citizen and takes action to preserve the global environment by Ricoh Group Environmental Principles. In addition to reducing environmental impact, Ricoh Group strives to maintain and improve the self-recovery capabilities of the Earth to support a sustainable global environment. Ricoh Group combines human resources, processes and technology to build information infrastructures that are faster, smarter and cheaper compared to the customers’ imagination. Ricoh Group is committed to help customers in the pursuit of change through innovation. That is the meaning of “Imagine. Change.”.

Ricoh Group has shown its brand’s growing presence around the world. This new message reflects the general change in the services of Ricoh, which can be viewed on the company’s portfolio on services that is increasingly widespread, including IMS (Industrial Media Solution). The ability to change is the essential element of business success today. Technology is constantly changing at an unprecedented pace, and there is pressure for customers to keep up with the changes. Ricoh is known as a leading company with technological quality, high standards of customer service and sustainable initiatives. With the slogan “Imagine. Change.”, Ricoh has changed the way the company works and has harnessed the collective imagination of the workers to produce products that are beneficial to the future sustainability of life.

 

CSV

a. Asti NurAryanti (120820150015) & RiksaRestuningArofah (120820150005)

image029

Ricoh Company, Ltd. is a Japan’s company that focuses its products on the field of optics and image. Some of Ricoh’s products are cameras, printers, photocopy machines etc. Ricoh Company was founded in 1936 with the name of Kankoshi Riken Co., Ltd. and the headoffice is in Tokyo, Japan.
All the activities during Seminar at Rikkyo University and Company Visit to Ricoh Company are very useful for the MM students who are required to have international experience and knowledge. Materials provided by Ricoh Company gave global insight for the students so that we know business practices of the leading companies, ranging from business

strategy to corporate environmental sensitivity. One business concept of Ricoh Company is Creating Shared Value (CSV) which is a policy in business practices that not only increase and enhance the competitiveness of enterprises, but also to promote economic and social conditions in the community.
Ricoh Company has implemented the concept of Creating Shared Value (CSV), where the risks / challenges are regarded as a potential opportunity to create collective value for the company and its environment. Creating Shared Value (CSV) is a concept in business strategy that emphasizes the importance of including problems of social needs in the corporate strategic planning. CSV is the development of the concept of Corporate Social Responsibility (Corporate Social Responsibility, CSR).

Ricoh Company’s CSV concept is based on the idea of their interdependent relationship between business and social welfare. Ricoh Company has reputed that usually business and social welfare have always been placed as opposite; however, in CSV concept, social welfare is considered into the CSV. In this CSV concept, Ricoh Company does not only quest for profit, but also takes into account about the production process that does not produce environmental damage or pollution. This CSV emphasises an opportunity to establish a competitive advantage by entering the social problems as a primary consideration in Company Strategic Planning. CSV approach corroborates that the company give benefits to society while simultaneously improve its competitiveness.

As an example, its applications not focus only on improving the products that improve environmental performance such as saving CO2, energy and paper, but also emphasise on optimizations that increase productivity, reduce waiting time, easy to use, encourage new work culture, and reduce total costs. These lead all layers of employees to use equipment properly so that the target can be achieved efficiently. By increasing productivity, workers can maximize the results of their work within the given time frame. Ricoh Company has made efforts to enable product innovations for reducing environmental impact.

Ricoh Company initiates work to achieve two objectives that provide solutions for social problems as well as business growth by leveraging the capabilities and resources of the company. Ricoh Company performs the resolution of social problems such as improving quality of life around the industry and maintains its sustainability; one of them is taking care of the environment by implementing waste treatment regularly and building a pollution-free industrial region. Furthermore, at the same time Ricoh Company attends to their business growth on the development of market/ consumers, competitive advantage, as well as a method of marketing that must be done to maintain the sustainability of the company.

Obviously the concept of CSV is able to balance between business interests and environmental interests. Not only that, in maintaining its business Ricoh Company also pays attention to long-term value that must be defended. The Company believes that its sustainibility of good business continuity, the factor must be considered is the convenience of customers on the products. This CSV concept can then be applied by companies in Indonesia in order to achieve good synergy between business and the environment.

b. Lokita

I thank the Master of Management of Universitas Padjadjaran which held the program “International Joint Seminar & Company Visit to Ricoh Corporation” organized by MM Program Unpad FEB cooperation with Rikkyo University in Tokyo, Japan, from 2 to 6 February 2016. In particular, I would say thanks to Mrs. Popy Rufaidah, SE., M.BA., Ph.D, and Mrs. Eka Komalasari A., SE, MM which have provided guidance since the inception of paper until the completion of the event.

The first day, we did a Cultural Analysis. We went to Asakusa temple and experienced the Japanese culture there then performed Marketing Analysis, which was done at a souvenir shopping centre that displays and sell very unique souvenirs of Japan.

Day 2 we started the joint seminar in Japan Rikkyo University, which is located in Ikebukuro, Tokyo. In this Rikkyo university I presented my research paper that has been prepared in English as an international language, the title is “The Analysis of Investment Policy at the Japan Automotive Multi-National Corporation Operated to Increase Their Competitiveness Amongst European Automotive Manufacturers in Indonesia”. There are 3 Professors of Rikkyo University who acted as reviewers, Prof. Akita, Prof. Yamada and Prof. Kakinaka. I was very proud that my presentation was given feedback and suggestions by the three professors.

After the presentation at Rikkyo University we continued the journey to Ricoh Company. Here we learned the process and the workings of the company so that it has become a very big company. I was amazed by this company, looking at technological innovations that have been continuously developed from technology electronic devices, optical devices, thermal media, manufacturing equipment, photocopy machine, even a camera technology that has been developed as spherical camera; naturally Ricoh becomes one of the best global companies at this moment.

Many valuable lessons we have learned from the exposure of Ricoh Company. One growth strategy that has been prioritized by Ricoh Company is “Creating Shared Value (CSV),” which achieve two goals at once, namely the solution to social problems and the growth of the company. Ricoh use of technology, products and services, human resources, and other resources to be part of the solution to social problems and to develop new markets, attract new customers and introduce innovations.
Creating Shared Value (CSV) is a business concept that aims to generate economic significance through generating value for society by addressing the needs and social issues. This concept was first introduced by Professor Michael Porter.

Creating Shared Value (CSV)

image031

Ricoh Company has made efforts to develop a platform for business opportunities that will also lead to solve social problems, as this can be seen in the rapid economic growth has happened in many developing countries, yet there is still a fairly large group in these countries live in poverty, often called as BOP (Base of the Pyramid). In India, Ricoh has supported local communities in the creation and expansion of their businesses as a way to provide ongoing assistance in solving various challenges faced by the people who live in rural areas in particular. Through these efforts, Ricoh aspires to play a major role in improving the quality of life in rural areas and reduce the income gap between urban and rural populations, while pursuing future business opportunities.
Some steps are already done as follows:

Step 1: Building trust and identifying needs
Step 2: Developing a new local business and creating social value
Step 3: Developing a platform for business opportunities
I am very grateful that I was able to join in this joint seminar and got a lot of valuable experiences. I am sure it will be beneficial not only for sciences but also will be applied in the work professionally.

 

c. Irvin Yanuar (120820150024) and Ajisuryo Akbar S. (120820150045)

image033

The journey in the framework of the “International Joint Seminar & Company Visit” to Tokyo, Japan can be said to be brief, but very memorable. Many valuable lessons and experience gained from our visit to the Sakura country. In this event, we were required to present a thesis proposal in English at Rikkyo University and we visited one of the big corporations based in Japan, namely Ricoh Company, Ltd. Another interesting thing we got from our visit to Ricoh is to know what their vision and the ideas they use, which can be said to be out of the box, capable of creating a product and business strategies that can make them growing in this global competition. At Ricoh, we also learned that in the course of their business, Ricoh does not concern with profit alone and ignore the society around them, but they also think how to improve the socio-economic development of the society around them through the implementation of Creating Shared Value (CSV).
According to Ricoh, CSV itself is a strategy to achieve two goals simultaneously, which is becoming the solution of social problems and the development of corporate business. We see that with the implementation of CSV on their business, Ricoh considers that the society is not a business cost as opposed to profit. Ricoh thus assumes that the society should always be supported in order to continue to develop socially and economically since the development of society will automatically increase the competitiveness of the company itself. Interestingly, the ultimate goal of CSV adoption by Ricoh is they want to build a sustainable business and community so that all business activities conducted by Ricoh are acceptable by and useful to society and also of course increase profits for Ricoh itself.

One of the implementations of the CSV of Ricoh to create sustainable business and society which is very interesting for us is the establishment of Ebina to be an Ecotown. Within a period of three years only, Ebina area, where Ricoh is located, which was originally an area dominated by vacant lots of field has been converted into a modern area. From this project, we see that the Ricoh has wanted to promote economic and social communities by implementing Ricoh’s proprietary technology. Of course with such implementation, automatically people in Ebina Ecotown benefit of this concept and certainly people in Ebina have become a new market for Ricoh in the course of sustaining their business into the future. The images below were obtained from the presentation of the Ricoh, show differences between Ebina condition in August 2012 and it is in January 2016 after applying the concept Ecotown by Ricoh.

image036image035image037

By applying CSV made by Ricoh in Indonesia, we hope Indonesian companies are able to implement this, which means that the Indonesian companies must be willing to build socio-economic conditions in the surrounding environment and solve existing problems in the neighborhood. The company can imitate or even make collaboration with Ricoh, which already has the experience to implement this CSV. With the advancement of the environmental conditions socially and economically, certainly people will be more open to the company and create new markets and new business opportunities in their areas so as to create a sustainable business and society.

 

Preparation and activities in the Seminar are reviewed by Professors

a. Ghina Rizkiana M (120820150007) & Andri Gazam (120820150017)

International Seminar course is the most favorite subject and the most fun for us. Different from the other subjects, in this course we have got two skills simultaneously, how to create international standard Journal (hard skills) and how to present it well in the international environment (soft skills). In addition, we also got a bonus of sightseeing and holiday in Japan. It was a very memorable experience and become one of the best moments in my life.

At the beginning of the MM semester, there were some topics that would be written in the international journal, but in the end after the discussion with the lecturers I chose the title “Promotional Strategies: Advertising and Public Relations to Increase Brand Awareness of Ichi Ocha brand in Indonesia”. This topic is an interesting topic for our study because this product has been produced through cooperation (Joint Venture) between two large companies in Japan and in Indonesia, namely ASAHI co. and PT. Indofood but unfortunately these products have not been able to compete in the RTD tea market in Indonesia.

Fortunately at the time of our batch, joint international seminar program has become a compulsory subject so that we have been guided gradually on the procedure for the preparation of international standard research proposals by the lecturers. The research proposal should include background research, literature review, research methods, and the expected results of this study. The research proposal is required to use English and is prooread by a person or institution who or which is competent in the language. Advices and inputs are given to the proposals by the faculty team in every meeting for the betterments.

Many positive things come from this program for the development of the MM students in terms of hard skills and soft skills. Besides learning about how to make research proposals to international standards, we also learn how to present our research proposal in order to attract the attention of international audiences.
The international seminar was held on February 4, 2016 at Rikkyo University, Tokyo, Japan. The delegation was welcomed by the staff of Rikkyo University and the professors. The seminar began with a speech by Professor Akita followed by a speech delivered by Ms. Popy Rufaidah as chairman of the Master of Management study program of Padjadjaran University. A total of 22 groups presented their research proposals. The seminar was attended by Professor Akita, Professor Yamada, and Professor Kakinaka as reviewers. The professors gave more input to the methods that should be done and the steps or process in obtaining the data. The professors followed all the research proposals presented by the students respectfully. What a priceless experience that we were able to discuss with professors about our research proposals. Feedback and suggestions given by the professors are very helpful in the completion of this study.
We were very fortunate to follow this international activity and have gained knowledge and valuable experience that probably would not be gotten should we did not take the MM program. We believe this can give a positive contribution to our career in the future.

Finally, we would like to thank in particular to Ms. Popy Rufaidah, SE., M.BA., Ph.D and Mr. Yudi Azis, S.Si., SE., S. Sos., MT, Ph.D who have guided my group and other groups in preparing the research proposals that was presented at that international seminar in addition to their lead during the trips in the event.

 

b. Adrian Noor Prayudha (120820150056 & Baiq Vanya (120820150012)

Memorable is the right word to describe my experience following the International Joint Seminar and Company Visit held on from February 3, 2016 to February 6, 2016. All of these activities took place in Tokyo, Japan. Tokyo is an area that is very well organised and clean. Well organised and clean culture is implemented by all the population in Tokyo that give deep impression and interesting experience for us.

To participate in the International Joint Seminar we prepared a research proposal for the presentation. In the research proposal, we raised the Indonesia Sea toll and Short Sea Shipping as the topics covered. We were trying to gather information on the implementation Sea Toll and Short Sea Shipping available worldwide. This study aimed to obtain information about the elements of Short Sea Shipping which can be applied to the Indonesia Sea Toll. The implementation of the elements of Short Sea Shipping is expected to help Indonesia in an effort to lower logistics costs. That is our reason for choosing the topic because the position of Indonesia is still above other countries in terms of logistics costs. We hope this study will help the Indonesian government to reduce the cost of logistics so that it can be a competitive nation worldwide.

Before leaving for Japan, Ms. Popy Rufaidah, Mr. Yudi Azis and Mrs. Eka Adiwiliga guided us on the writing of research proposal that would be presented as well as preparations to enhance our presentation. During the exercise, we practiced how to deliver a good presentation so that the audience can understand what we convey. Feedback and suggestions during practices we applied so that we could perform optimally in front of the professors at Rikkyo University.

International Joint Seminar took place on February 4, 2016 at Rikkyo University. Rikkyo University is located in the Ikebukuro area. Rikkyo University campus atmosphere is very beautiful and comfortable. The very interesting classical building caught our eyes when we set foot at Rikkyo University, so we did not forget to take some photos for memories.

Delivering presentation in front of the professors at Rikkyo University was a very meaningful experience for us. The three professors of Rikkyo University, Professor Akita, Professor Yamada, and Professor Kakinata, were very enthusiastic in listening to what we said. The professors also gave feedback at the end of each presentation that will be used as input in continuing our research. For our group, Professor Yamada advised that we should add research questions in our research proposal about the reasons why Indonesia has high logistics costs.

After completing the presentation, we were awarded a certificate indicating that we have involved in an international seminar. Overall, this activity helps us to gain international experience, how to interact and communicate with people of different languages and cultures. This of course helps us add to our ability to enter international world. This experience also has motivated us to implement all the Japanese culture that most likely will give the good progress and betterment of Indonesia.
I would like to thank MM UNPAD because it has facilitated us to attend this International Joint Seminar. Hopefully this program will continue and will increasingly give more benefits for all parties involved.

 

c. Nur Rahmayanti 120820150025

The international seminar held on February 4, 2016 was one Master of Management program of Padjadjaran University (UNPAD). This program was conducted in cooperation with Rikkyo University, Japan, with aims to promote the quality of graduate students of UNPAD. The seriousness of this grant program can be seen from the Study Plan Card (KRS) of MM UNPAD which the program is listed as international seminar on the KRS. Preparation was done so that the program can be run as planned. In addition to the inclusion of international seminar as one of the compulsory subjects which required the students meet face to face with the lectures once a week, the presentation practices were also conducted for three times before the students leaving for Japan.

The seminar which was attended by 32 participants, was divided into 20 groups. Each group presented a paper on different topic in accordance with the interests of the group and phenomena that exist in the world today. Examples of the topics raised each group are: imports strategy of Unagi from Indonesia to Japan, Brand image at Starbucks, Logistic Management in Indonesia and others. The topic that I raised on this occasion was on the implementation of E-Procurement in government, especially at the National Institute of Aeronautics and Space (LAPAN) entitled “Government E-Procurement Practices in Space agency: Transparency, Effectiveness, and Efficiency”. The preparation that I did to prepare this paper was to collect data on LAPAN and sought international journals that raised the same topics for references. Face-to-face meetings and discussions with supervisors as well as colleagues were done for the betterment of the paper of each group. Another thing that had to be considered in the preparation of this paper was proofreading for each paper so that errors in the use of English grammar can be minimized. After the paper of each group was completed, the group was required to create a power point that is attractive to be presented. Presentation preparation was done very seriously, even though the exercises were conducted only three times in the last week before departing for Japan, these exercises really worked effectively. This opportunity was used as a medium of discussion with other students and correction by our tutors. Feedback from the supervisor helped the students in the control and delivery of content. Finally, each group made a presentation in front of the professors who gave review at Rikkyo University.

 

Review Proposal by Professor Rikkyo University

Exposure of our research proposals was made in front of 3 (three) professors at Rikkyo University – Japan. A total of 20 groups fluently delivered their research proposals to be reviewed by the Professors. The Professors who gave the review were Prof. Takihara Akita, Prof. Kyohei Yamada and Prof. Makoto Kakinata. Each group was given some response and feedback to enhance the proposal. In my research proposal that raised the issue of implementation of e-procurement in government, Prof. Takihara Akita requested that this research proposal should be elaborated more because it would touch a sensitive issue, which is the problem of corruption in Indonesia. Prof. Akita also questioned about the respondents that will be the object of the research, who will be the object of research and the number of respondents. This kind of review is very helpful for the students in continuing their research.

error: Content is protected !!